APAA Scholarship & Awards Gala

APAA 40th

The annual Scholarship and Awards Gala is the premier event sponsored by the USC Asian Pacific Alumni Association (APAA). Every year, the APAA pays tribute to distinguished members of the Asian Pacific Islander Trojan Family. Previous recipients include mochi ice cream inventor Frances Hashimoto ’66; Justice Joyce Kennard ’71, MPA & JD ’74; Vizio founder William Wang ’86; KTLA Morning News co-anchor Frank Buckley ’87; and director Jon M. Chu ’03.

This is also a time where we celebrate our USC APAA scholars. Since 1984, the USC Asian Pacific Alumni Association has awarded over $1 million in scholarships to more than 600 outstanding students at USC. In 2021 alone, the APAA awarded $200,000 in scholarships to 80 USC students.

On this very special 40th anniversary of the Asian Pacific Alumni Association, we posthumously honored our Nisei students whose USC educations were disrupted in 1942. We conferred their USC degrees, as we recognized their resilience and courage in facing profound injustice, and collectively work toward healing, compassion, and understanding. More information about this important university initiative can be found by clicking here.

We also celebrated the leadership and service of our esteemed alumni and the merit of our outstanding student scholars, while striving to advance the legacy of Asian Pacific Trojans.

All proceeds from the gala directly benefit generations of USC students and alumni through the APAA scholarship endowment and our worldwide alumni programs.

Thank you for those who attended this special occasion that was held on April 1, 2022.

2022 Leadership Award

Wenda Fong ’75
Co-founder and chairperson emeritus of the Coalition of Asian Pacifics in Entertainment;
Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees, The California State University

2022 Leadership Award

Sheree Roxas-Chua Gotuaco ’90
Founder & CEO of Stylist in Pocket Technologies, Inc. and Scarletbox.io; Founder & CEO of Omnimoda International, Inc.

2022 Service Award

Darren W. Chu ’84, DDS ’85 and Sandy Chu ’85
Longtime dedicated university volunteers

Past Honorees

APAA President’s Award

Steven B. Sample
Wilfred Steven Uytengsu Jr. ’83


APAA Leadership Award

Frank Buckley ’87
Junita Ciputra MBA ’88
Tim Dang ’80
Fung Der ’78, MBA ’79
Michael Garrett ’67
Harun Hajadi MBA ’88
Irene Hirano-Inouye ’70, MPA ’73
Yosuke Honjo MBA ’98
John Iino JD ’87
Grant Imahara ’93
Sabrina Kay MBA ’05
Sidney Kanazawa JD ’78
Andy Lee ’93
Scott Lee ’81
Kenneth Liang ’83
Mitchell Maki ’82, MSW ’84, PHD ’93
Baldwin W. Marchack DDC ’71
Bryan B. Min ’86
Glenn Osaki MA ’87
Taryn Rose MD ’92
Haruki Rocky Seto ’99, MPA ’01
Jon SooHoo ’84
Debbie Shon ’74
Nita Song ’97
Garrick (Rick) Wang ’88
William Wang ’86
Karen Wong ’83, JD ’86
Oliver Wong ’76, MBA ’77


APAA Legacy Award

Sammy Lee MD ’47


APAA Distinguished Alumni Award

Justice Joyce Kennard ’71, MPA/JD ’74
Kenneth K. Miura ’54


APAA Service Award

Julie Benniardi ’91
Rebecca Branham MBA ’13
Tony Choi ’81
Bob Chong ’77, MBA ’79
Frances Hashimoto ’66
Wandy and Larry Jung PharmDs ’77
Ysa Le PharmD ’94
Christine C. Lee JD ’79
Jennifer Lum ’82
Chuck Miwa ’88, MBA ’00
Melody Nishida ’78
Tae-Hyun Oh ME ’83, EdD ’91
Bong-rak Sohn MBA ’86
The Hon. Michelle Park Steel EMBA ’10
Ben Wong ’73, PhD ’78
Debbie Wong ’75
Francis Yamazaki MD ’81

 APAA Young Alumni Award

Justin Chon ’03
Jon M. Chu ’03
Ken Ochiai ’06
Justin Tandingan MPP ’14


APAA Corporate Leadership Award

Union Bank of California


APASG* Award

Jae Min Chang
Edgardo de la Vega DDS ’71
Yoshi Honkawa ’55
David Hyun
Mary C. Takagaki
Carl Tamaki
Kenjohn Wang
The Honorable Delbert E. Wong
Wilbur Woo
Joselyn Geaga Yap
Do Ngoc Yen


APASG* Founders Recognition Award

Irene Hirano-Inouye ’70, MPA ’73
Kenneth Kasamatsu ’68
Alan Kumamoto
Dennis Kunisaki
Mary Kurushima
Frank Kwan ’71
Michael Matsuda ’82
Sarah Miyahira
Karen Wong ’83, JD ’86


APASG* Media Award

The Chinese Daily News
FM Seoul
The Korea Central Daily
The Korea Times
Korean Television Enterprises
Nguoi Viet
The Philippine News
Radio Korea
The Rafu Shimpo

* Asian Pacific American Support Group (former name of the APAA)

Past Award Photos

2022 | 2021 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 |2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008

We would like to thank your sponsors for supporting our first virtual APAA Scholarship and Awards Gala. As our main fundraiser of the year, your support allows us to continue to provide scholarships to our undergraduate and graduate students at USC as well as developing programming to engage alumni lifelong and worldwide.


Kodomo 3, LLC


Eric & Sheree Gotuaco
Herman Ostrow School of Dentistry of USC
Mitchell & Deena Lew
Rod & Elsie Nakamoto
Jamison Services


Bank of America
David & Linda Ikegami
Stephanie & Teiji Kawana
Stephen K. Takeda
Karen Wong & Scott Lee
USC Alumni Association
USC Credit Union


Darren & Sandy Chu
Ernst & Young
John & Eva Iino
J. Morey Co., Inc.
Curtis C. Jung & Lynn Hatashita-Jung
Gregg Lee
Patricia & Harry Mar
Union Bank
Kent Ochiai & Ruth Kawakami
Janice Tanaka
USC Marshall School of Business
USC University Relations


Gala contributions are tax-deductible with the exception of $150 if your sponsorship/ticket comes with dinner. Individual admission (no meals or wine included) is 100% tax-deductible.